← All GPUs

NVIDIA · Consumer · Blackwell (GB203)

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5080

Only 16 GB; the rumoured 24 GB RTX 5080 SUPER has not launched (NVIDIA's compare page lists no SUPER cards).

VRAM

16 GB

GDDR7

Memory bandwidth

960 GB/s

FP16 compute

112.6 TFLOPS

dense tensor

Price

$999

launch price; no current price

What fits at 4-bit

The 4-bit file plus 8,192 tokens of context and 1.5 GB of overhead, against the VRAM of one card. Speeds are measured medians where someone has published a run at that card count; a blank speed means no run, not a slow one. Machine pages carry estimates for the gaps.

ModelNeeds1 card (16 GB)
Qwen3.5 4B4B · Q4_K_M4.3 GBfits
Llama 3.1 8B Instruct8B · Q4_K_M7.1 GB45 tok/smedian of 3 runs
Qwen3 8B8.2B · Q4_K_M7.3 GB129 tok/smedian of 1 run
Gemma 4 E4B IT8B · Q4_K_M6.5 GBfits
Granite 4.2 8B8.8B · Q4_K_M7.9 GBfits
Qwen3.5 9B9B · Q4_K_M7.0 GBfits
Gemma 4 12B IT11.95B · Q4_K_M8.2 GBfits
Ministral 3 14B Reasoning (2512)13.9B · Q4_K_M10.4 GBfits
Phi-414.7B · Q4_K_M11.3 GBfits
gpt-oss-20b21B, 3.6B active · MXFP4 (native)12.5 GB189 tok/smedian of 4 runs

Measured speeds

One card

Single-user runs on 1 card
ModelQuantBackendGenerationPromptContextSource
gpt-oss-20bMXFP4 MoEllama.cpp (build not stated) CUDA249 tok/s11,251 tok/s2,048-token prompt0llama.cpp benchmark discussion2026-02
gpt-oss-20bMXFP4 MoEllama.cpp b6210 CUDA205 tok/s7,477 tok/s2,048-token prompt0llama.cpp benchmark discussion2025-08
gpt-oss-20bMXFP4llama.cpp b8233172 tok/s9,146 tok/s4,096-token prompt4,096review2026-03
gpt-oss-20bMXFP4Ollama (version not stated)141 tok/s5,604 tok/s0review2025-10
Llama 3.1 8B InstructQ4_K_MOllama (version not stated)135 tok/s28,928 tok/s0review2025-10
Llama 3.1 8B InstructQ4_K_MLocalScore (llamafile; version not stated)45 tok/s4,428 tok/s0LocalScore2026-10
Llama 3.1 8B InstructQ4_K_MLocalScore (llamafile; version not stated)43 tok/s3,963 tok/s0LocalScore2026-10
Llama 3.1 8B InstructQ8_0Ollama (version not stated)91 tok/s30,170 tok/s0review2025-10
Qwen3 8BQ4_Kllama.cpp (build not stated)129 tok/s6,410 tok/s4,096-token prompt4,096review2026-03

Speculative decoding, several users, or long context

Kept apart because each measures a different workload from one person chatting near the start of a conversation.

Other runs on this card
ModelQuantBackendGenerationPromptContextMeasured onSource
gpt-oss-20bMXFP4llama.cpp b8233161 tok/s7,561 tok/s16,384-token prompt16,384RTX 5080review2026-03
gpt-oss-20bMXFP4llama.cpp b8233149 tok/s5,907 tok/s32,768-token prompt32,768RTX 5080review2026-03
Qwen3 8BQ4_Kllama.cpp (build not stated)94 tok/s4,024 tok/s16,384-token prompt16,384RTX 5080review2026-03
Qwen3 8BQ4_Kllama.cpp (build not stated)73 tok/s1,943 tok/s32,768-token prompt32,768RTX 5080review2026-03

Specifications

Memory
16 GB GDDR7
FP16 basis
Dense FP16/BF16 tensor with FP32 accumulate; FP16 accumulate 225.1 dense (450.2 sparse).
Board power
360 W
Slots
2
Length
304 mm
PCIe
Gen 5 x16
NVLink
No
Cooling
Open-air
Software
CUDA, Vulkan
Released
2025
Availability
sold new
Price basis
Founders Edition removed from NVIDIA's store in Sept 2026 (NVIDIA: out of stock, not discontinued); launch MSRP $999. Partner cards still sold.
Maker page
nvidia.com

Sources

  • nvidia.com: 16 GB GDDR7 256-bit, 360 W, FE 304 mm 2-slot, PCIe Gen 5
  • images.nvidia.com: NVIDIA RTX Blackwell whitepaper appendix tables: memory, bandwidth, TGP, PCIe gen, dense/sparse FP16 tensor TFLOPS
  • nvidia.com: NVIDIA GeForce compare page: RTX 50 series memory bandwidth row; no RTX 50 SUPER listed
  • nvidianews.nvidia.com: NVIDIA launch pricing: RTX 5090 $1,999, RTX 5080 $999, RTX 5070 Ti $749
  • tomshardware.com: RTX 5090/5080 Founders Edition removed from NVIDIA's store in Sept 2026; NVIDIA says still in production
  • tweaktown.com: RTX 50 SUPER reported delayed indefinitely