← All machines

Apple unified memory · Apple

Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M5 Max, 32-core GPU)

The 14-inch MacBook Pro with the cut-down M5 Max: a 32-core GPU, 460GB/s and only one memory size, 36GB. That holds dense models up to about 30B at 4-bit, or a 35B MoE such as Qwen3.6 35B-A3B.

Memory for models

24 GBassumption

Assumed two thirds of 36 GB for macOS's default GPU limit, which Apple does not publish.

Memory bandwidth

460 GB/s

Maker price

~$4,099

Largest at 4-bit

22.4 GB at 8,192 tokens of context, default GPU limit (an assumed limit, see Memory for models)

gpt-oss-20b, 4-bit

105 tok/smedian of 3 runs

Memory configurations

One page covers every memory option the maker sells. Prices are the maker’s list price for the cheapest configuration with that much memory.

MemoryPriceMemory the GPU can use
36 GB~$4,099
24 GB default gpu limitassumption
28 GB limit raised with sysctlassumption

Assumed two thirds of 36 GB for macOS's default GPU limit, which Apple does not publish. Raised with iogpu.wired_limit_mb per the MLX docs, leaving an assumed 8 GB for macOS. How GPU memory limits work on unified-memory machines.

What it runs at 4-bit

Every model in the catalog at its 4-bit file with 8,192 tokens of context. 20 of 41 fit. Speeds are the median of measured runs on the same chip where any exist; otherwise an estimate from memory bandwidth. Try other quants and context lengths.

ModelNeedsFitGeneration speed
Kimi K32.8T, 104B active · UD-Q4_K_XL1406.8 GBcontext memory estimatedDoes not fit
DeepSeek V4 Pro1.6T, 49B active · Q4_K_M890.5 GBcontext memory not countedDoes not fit
Kimi K2.61T, 32B active · UD-Q4_K_XL545.7 GBcontext memory estimatedDoes not fit
DeepSeek V4.1 Flash552B, 16B active · Q4 (DwarfStar)484.5 GBDoes not fit
GLM-5.3753.3B · UD-Q4_K_XL437.4 GBcontext memory estimatedDoes not fit
DeepSeek V3.2671B, 37B active · Q4_K_M379.6 GBcontext memory estimatedDoes not fit
MiniMax M3428B, 23B active · Q4_K_M244.8 GBcontext memory not countedDoes not fit
Qwen3.5 397B-A17B397B, 17B active · Q4_K_M229.1 GBcontext memory estimatedDoes not fit
GLM-5.3 Flash320B, 18B active · UD-Q4_K_XL187.6 GBcontext memory estimatedDoes not fit
Hy3295B, 21B active · Q4_K_M173.6 GBDoes not fit
MiniMax M2.7228.7B · Q4_K_M132.7 GBDoes not fit
Qwen3.8 Flash-Next125B, 6B active · Q4_K_M113.1 GBcontext memory estimatedDoes not fit
Nemotron 3 Super 120B-A12B120B, 12B active · Q4_K_M82.6 GBcontext memory estimatedDoes not fit
Qwen3.5 122B-A10B122B, 10B active · Q4_K_M73.0 GBcontext memory estimatedDoes not fit
Mistral Medium 3.5 128B128B · Q4_K_M74.0 GBDoes not fit
GLM-4.5-Air106B, 12B active · Q4_K_M70.9 GBDoes not fit
Mistral Small 4 119B (2603)119B, 6.5B active · Q4_K_M69.3 GBcontext memory estimatedDoes not fit
Llama 4 Scout 17B-16E Instruct109B, 17B active · Q4_K_M62.4 GBcontext memory not countedDoes not fit
gpt-oss-120b117B, 5.1B active · MXFP4 (native)60.2 GBcontext memory estimatedDoes not fit
Qwen3 Coder Next80B, 3B active · Q4_K_M46.9 GBcontext memory estimatedDoes not fit
Llama 3.3 70B Instruct70B · Q4_K_M43.6 GBDoes not fit
Nemotron 3.5 Lightning 30B-A3B30B, 3B active · Q4_K_M25.3 GBcontext memory estimatedFits with raised limitassumed limit~60–107 tok/sestimate
Qwen3.6 35B-A3B35B, 3B active · Q4_K_M22.4 GBcontext memory estimatedFitsassumed limit~80–143 tok/sestimate
Ornith 1.5 35B-A3B35B, 3B active · Q4_K_M21.9 GBcontext memory estimatedFitsassumed limit~82–147 tok/sestimate
Qwen3 Coder 30B-A3B Instruct30.5B, 3.3B active · Q4_K_M19.5 GBFitsassumed limit~76–136 tok/sestimate
Gemma 4 31B IT30.7B · Q4_K_M18.9 GBcontext memory estimatedFitsassumed limit~18–23 tok/sestimate
Granite 4.2 30B29.3B · Q4_K_M20.3 GBFitsassumed limit~19–23 tok/sestimate
Qwen3.8 27B27B · Q4_K_M18.2 GBcontext memory estimatedFitsassumed limit~19–24 tok/sestimate
Gemma 4 26B-A4B IT25.2B, 3.8B active · Q4_K_M17.4 GBcontext memory estimatedFitsassumed limit~60–106 tok/sestimate
Qwen3.6 27B27B · Q4_K_M17.7 GBcontext memory estimatedFitsassumed limit~20–25 tok/sestimate
Devstral Small 2 24B (2512)24B · Q4_K_M16.1 GBFitsassumed limit28 tok/smedian of 1 run
gpt-oss-20b21B, 3.6B active · MXFP4 (native)12.5 GBcontext memory estimatedFitsassumed limit105 tok/smedian of 3 runs
Phi-414.7B · Q4_K_M11.3 GBFitsassumed limit~38–47 tok/sestimate
Ministral 3 14B Reasoning (2512)13.9B · Q4_K_M10.4 GBFitsassumed limit~41–51 tok/sestimate
Gemma 4 12B IT11.95B · Q4_K_M8.2 GBcontext memory estimatedFitsassumed limit~47–59 tok/sestimate
Qwen3.5 9B9B · Q4_K_M7.0 GBcontext memory estimatedFitsassumed limit~59–74 tok/sestimate
Granite 4.2 8B8.8B · Q4_K_M7.9 GBFitsassumed limit~61–76 tok/sestimate
Gemma 4 E4B IT8B · Q4_K_M6.5 GBcontext memory not countedFitsassumed limit~111–138 tok/sestimate
Qwen3 8B8.2B · Q4_K_M7.3 GBFitsassumed limit~67–84 tok/sestimate
Llama 3.1 8B Instruct8B · Q4_K_M7.1 GBFitsassumed limit75 tok/smedian of 2 runs
Qwen3.5 4B4B · Q4_K_M4.3 GBcontext memory estimatedFitsassumed limit~123–153 tok/sestimate

Measured speeds

6 published runs with one user, plain decoding and at most 4,096 tokens already in context, on M5 Max (18-core CPU, 32-core GPU). Runs on 2 other machines with the same chip count here too, and say so.

Plain single-user runs
ModelQuantBackendGenerationPromptContextMeasured onSource
Devstral Small 2 24B (2512)4-bit MLX (Devstral-Small-2-24B-Instruct-2512-4bit)oMLX (version not stated) (MLX)28 tok/s874 tok/s1,024-token prompt1,024a machine with the same chipoMLX benchmark submission2026-09
gpt-oss-20b4-bit MLX (gpt-oss-20b-MXFP4-Q8)oMLX 0.7.0.dev2 (MLX)107 tok/s3,407 tok/s1,024-token prompt1,024a machine with the same chipoMLX benchmark submission2026-09
gpt-oss-20b4bit (MLX)oMLX (version not stated)105 tok/s4,287 tok/s4,096-token prompt4,096a machine with the same chipoMLX benchmark submission2026-10
gpt-oss-20b4bit (MLX)oMLX (version not stated)105 tok/s4,204 tok/s4,096-token prompt4,096a machine with the same chipoMLX benchmark submission2026-10
Llama 3.1 8B Instruct4-bit MLX (Llama-3.1-8B-Instruct-4bit)oMLX (version not stated) (MLX)87 tok/s2,860 tok/s1,024-token prompt1,024a machine with the same chipoMLX benchmark submission2026-10
Llama 3.1 8B InstructQ4_K_MLocalScore (llamafile/llama.cpp, version not stated)62 tok/s637 tok/s0a machine with the same chipLocalScore2026-10

Deep into a long context

Measured with more than 4,096 tokens already in context, where every new token also reads the context memory.

Runs at long context
ModelQuantBackendGenerationPromptContextMeasured onSource
Devstral Small 2 24B (2512)4-bit MLX (Devstral-Small-2-24B-Instruct-2512-4bit)oMLX (version not stated) (MLX)25 tok/s871 tok/s16,384-token prompt16,384a machine with the same chipoMLX benchmark submission2026-09
Devstral Small 2 24B (2512)4-bit MLX (Devstral-Small-2-24B-Instruct-2512)oMLX 0.4.2.dev1 (MLX)19 tok/s537 tok/s32,768-token prompt32,768a machine with the same chipoMLX benchmark submission2026-06
gpt-oss-20b4-bit MLX (gpt-oss-20b-MXFP4-Q8)oMLX 0.7.0 (MLX)90 tok/s4,019 tok/s16,384-token prompt16,384a machine with the same chipoMLX benchmark submission2026-10
gpt-oss-20b4-bit MLX (gpt-oss-20b-MXFP4-Q8)oMLX 0.5.4 (MLX)74 tok/s2,640 tok/s32,768-token prompt32,768a machine with the same chipoMLX benchmark submission2026-08
Llama 3.1 8B Instruct4-bit MLX (Llama-3.1-8B-Instruct-4bit)oMLX (version not stated) (MLX)63 tok/s2,304 tok/s16,384-token prompt16,384a machine with the same chipoMLX benchmark submission2026-09

Specifications

Chip
M5 Max (18-core CPU, 32-core GPU)
Memory
unified LPDDR (Apple does not state the generation)
Memory bandwidth
460 GB/s
FP16 compute
Apple does not publish TFLOPS for the M5 Max GPU or its Neural Accelerators
Software
Metal, MLX
Ships with
macOS
Power
96 W (USB-C power adapter included with the M5 Max 14-inch configuration (Apple store config))
Form factor
Laptop
Networking
No Ethernet; three Thunderbolt 5 ports
Released
2026-03
Maker page
apple.com

Sources

  • apple.com: M5 Max variants, 460/614GB/s bandwidth, memory options
  • apple.com: base price $4,099 for 14-inch 32-core GPU
  • apple.com: memory deltas (48GB +$0, 64GB +$400, 128GB +$2,000 for 40-core; 36GB only for 32-core); power adapter wattage
  • macworld.com: M5 Pro/Max MacBook Pro pre-orders from March 4, 2026
  • github.com: how far the GPU memory limit can be raised on a Mac (sysctl iogpu.wired_limit_mb)
  • github.com: the default GPU memory limit on a Mac and how to raise it

Compared with

Similar machines